Navratri 2017 Calendar Dates & time of Sharad and Chaitra Navratri

The nine days in Navratri is dedicated to the nine manifestations of Goddess Durga. It is majorly celebrated twice in a year with great devotion in all over India.

Navratri 2017 Dates

The first Navratri is celebrated as Chaitra Navratri or Vasant Navratri in March and April month. Second time, it is celebrated as Sharad Navaratri in the month of September and October.

People worship goddess Durga in their home as well as in pandals by setting up idols of goddess Durga . Devotees celebrate Navratri by doing many rituals like Ghat sthapana, Akhand jyoti, Jware poojan, Kanya bhojan, and many more. In all these nine days nine forms of goddess durga is worshipped.

Vasant Navratri Calendar

Chaitra Navratri 2016 Dates

April 08, 2016 to April 16, 2016

Chaitra Navratri 2017 Dates

March 28, 2017 to April 05, 2017

Chaitra Navratri 2018 Dates

March 18, 2018 to March 26, 2018

Shardiya Navratri Calendar

Sharad Navratri 2016 Dates

October 01, 2016 to October 11, 2016

Sharad Navratri 2017 Dates

September 21, 2017 to September 30, 2017

Sharad Navratri 2018 Dates

October 10, 2018 to October 19, 2018

Sharad Navratri 2017 Dates ( 21 September, 2017 to 30 September, 2017 )

Dedicated to Goddess Durga, Shardiya Navratri is one of the most playful and energetic festival, that is celebrated with great fervour and joy, over a period of nine nights in Ashwin, the lunar month of the Hindu calendar.

First Day: 21 September, 2017 (Thursday) - Ghatsthapana, Shailputri Puja

Second Day: 22 September, 2017 (Friday) - Chandra Darshan

Third Day: 23 September, 2017 (Saturday) - Dwitiya, Sindhara Dooj, Brahmacharini Puja

Fourth Day: 24 September, 2017 (Sunday) - Tritiya, Gaur Teej, Saubhagya Teej, Chandraghanta Puja

Fifth Day: 25 September, 2017 (Monday) - Chaturthi, Varad Vinayak, Kushmanda Puja

Sixth Day: 26 September, 2017 (Tuesday) - Panchami, Skandamata Puja

Seventh Day: 27 September, 2017 (Wednesday) - Shashthi, Katyayani Puja

Eighth Day: 28 September, 2017 (Thursday) - Saptami, Mahasaptami Vrat, Kalaratri Puja

Ninth Day: 29 September, 2017 (Friday) - Ashtami, Durga Ashtami, Mahagauri Puja

Tenth Day: 30 September, 2017 (Saturday) - Navami, Sharad Navratri ends, Siddhidatri Pooja, Dussehra

Devotees worshiped goddess Durga and her nine forms during these nine auspicious days, and at the end of Shardiya Navratri ( on the 10th day) people celebrate Dussehra in the favour or Lord Ram.

Chaitra Navratri 2018 Dates ( 18 March, 2018 to 26 March, 2018 )

Chaitra is the first month according to Hindu lunar calendar and the first day is celebrated as the Hindu New Year and because of it this Navratri is celebrated as Chaitra Navratri. Chaitra Navratri is also known as Vasant Navratri because it is the end of the winter season and beginning of the summer season.

Day One: 18 March 2018 (Sunday) - Ghatsthapana,Chandra Darshan, Shailputri Puja
Day Two: 19 March 2018 (Monday)- Dwitiya, Sindhara Dooj, Brahmacharini Puja
Day Three: 20 March 2018 (Tuesday) - Tritiya, Gaur Teej, Saubhagya Teej, Chandraghanta Puja
Day Four: 21 March 2018 (Wednesday) - Chaturthi, Varad Vinayak, Kushmanda Puja
Day Five: 22 March 2018 (Thursday) - Panchami, Laxmi Panchami, Naag Vrat Pujan, Skandamata Puja
Day Six: 23 March 2018 (Friday) - Shashthi, Skand Shashthi, Yamuna Jayanti, Katyayani Puja
Day Seven: 24 March 2018 (Saturday) - Saptami, Mahasaptami Vrat, Chaiti Chath, Kalaratri Puja
Day Eight: 25 March 2018 (Sunday) - Ashtami, Durga Ashtami, Annapurna, Sandhi Puja, Mahagauri Puja
Day Nine: 26 March 2018 (Monday) - Navami, Chaitra Navratri ends, Ram navami, Siddhidatri Pooja

Chaitra Navratri is also famous in the form of Rama Navratri, because the birthday of Lord Ram (Ram Navami) usually comes on the ninth day during Navratri. It is widely celebrated and is very popular in few states like Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand. It begins in the Maharashtra state with ‘Gudi Padwa’ whereas in Andhra Pradesh it begins with ‘Ugadi’.